June 18, 2024

Bustan Daily

Trusted Source for Online News Publishing

Ganduje appoints outgoing VC BUK as Chair Maitama Varsity Council, renames Road after Hamma

2 min read

Kano state governor, Dr. bdullahi Umar Ganduje approves the
appointment of Prof. Muhammad Yahuza Bello, outgoing Vice
Chancellor, Bayero University, Kano (BUK) as Pro Chancellor and
chairman Governing Council of Yusuf Maitama Sule University.
A press statement issued by the commissioner for Information,
Malam Muhammad Garba says Bello’s appointment, a professor of
Mathematics, who earned his doctorate in Mathematics in 1988
from the University of Arkansas, is with immediate effect.
He won a federal scholarship for exceptional performance in
undergraduate studies in BUK and emerged as the best graduating
student in the university and also won the Alhaji Aminu Dantata
Prize. His name was included in the Graduating School Dean’s List
for obtaining ‘A’ in all courses during his PhD programme in 1988
at the University of Arkansas.
Professor Bello had held several academic leadership positions in
the University including Head, Department of Mathematical
Sciences, 1991 to 1999; Dean, Faculty of Science, 1995-1999; and
Director, Centre for Information Technology, 2003-2007; Dean,
School of Postgraduate Studies, 2009-2010; and two term Deputy
Vice-Chancellor (Academics), which makes him the first and
longest Deputy Vice-Chancellor in the history of BUK.
Governor Ganduje also approves the renaming of the constructed/
dualised Maiduguri Road (Opp Mobile Police Qtrs)-CBN Qtrs-Zaria
Road after the pioneer Pro-Chancellor and Chairman of the Council
of Northwest University (now Yusuf Maitama Sule University),
Mallam Sule Yahaya Hamma.
Malam Hamma, a graduate of Political Science from Ahmadu Bello
University, Zaria, and a Master’s in Public Administration, worked
in various capacities in the Kano state government including head
of Political and Economic Affairs Division, Cabinet Office, before
his appointment as the Secretary to the State Government (SSG)
from 1979-1983. He was awarded with the National Honour of
Member of the Federal Republic of Nigeria (MFR) in 1983.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *