May 28, 2024

Bustan Daily

Trusted Source for Online News Publishing

Kano Gov’t Inaugurates 16-Member Committee On School Land Encroachment

2 min read
Kano Gov’t Inaugurates 16-Member Committee On School Land Encroachment

Committed in tackling the persistent trespass and land encroachment at some schools, Kano State Government has inaugurated 16- Member Committee on schools land encroachment.

Inaugurating the committee in his office, State Commissioner of Education Alhaji Umar Haruna Doguwa explained that the committee was formed following series of complains received by government on the problems of trespass and land encroachment at some schools by unpatriotic individuals.

The Commissioner represented by the Ministry’s Permanent Secretary Hajiya Kubra Imam highlighted that the terms of references given to the committee include identifying schools affected with trespass or encroachment by individuals, community or any organization in the state and examining the level of encroachment in the vulnerable schools.

In a statement signed by Director public enlightenment state ministry for education Balarabe Abdullahi Kiru said Other terms of references, according to the Commissioner are identifying schools that did not have parameter wall fencing, handling any issue that might have risen in the course of the committee’s findings as well as coming out with appropriate recommendations on the committee’s findings.

Doguwa further advised people who engaged on illegal development at some schools in the state to, with immediate effect, stop from doing so and wait for the government’s position.

He announced that the 16-member committee has Special Adviser to the Governor on vocational training Hon. Habeeb Hassan El-Yakub as Chairman while Alhaji Abdu Sale Deputy Director from the ministry of education would serve as Secretary.

Other members of the committee include representative from Science and Technical Schools Board, State Universal Basic Education Board, Kano State Senior Secondary Schools Management Board, Qur’anic and Islamiyya Schools Management Board, Chairman State Based Management Committee and State Chairman Parent Teachers Association.

The remaining members of the committee include former Chairman Fagge Local Government Area, former Chairman Dawakin Tofa Local Government Area and former and current Land officers from the ministry of Education.

“Your selection as members of this committee is predicated upon your wealth of experiences, commitment and enthusiasms as well as meritorious records you have in the civil service,” he said.

Speaking on behalf of the committee members, Chairman of the Committee Hon. Habeeb Hassan El-Yakub thanked the state government for finding them worthy to carry out the tasks and assured of the Committee’s determination to complete it’s assignment within the time given.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *